Matthew Schellhorn


Toccata Wagogo and Fuga Errata (2009)
solo piano | 13’ | World Premiere 2017
  • SummaryOpen or Close
    Matthew Schellhorn will perform this work as part of his solo recital entitled 10x10, presented by Markson Pianos and Álvarez Chamber Orchestra.
  • Programme noteOpen or Close
    Toccata Wagogo and Fuga Errato opens with fragments of music reminiscent of the music of the Wagogo people of Tanzania, which, as well as focusing on the thumb piano, is constructed with scales which are rich in sevenths which seem to emanate from an unheard root, as a banyan tree’s roots are not seen – an ‘ur musique spectrale’ – distinct from, for instance, the complex modal hoqueting of the Aka Pygmies of Central Africa. The movement continues with similar gestures coloured with primary harmonies, influenced by the large Matisse collage that used to contrast so dramatically with the classical repose of the Tate Gallery when based in Pimlico. The Fuga Errata which follows has the simple brutality of the 15th Century German woodcut of Vlad the Impaler and his hapless victims; ‘for a long time I had avoided the direct incisiveness of Bartók’s Suite or Allegro Barbaro, but here it returns, unapologetic and raw, although ending with B-A-C-H hidden in the concluding stabbing moments…’.
  • PerformancesOpen or Close
    28 June 2017
    St Mary Magdalene Church, Munster Square, London NW1
    World Premiere
See also
twitter-m soundcloud-m youtube-m vimeo-m rss-m email-32