Matthew Schellhorn


Nuances (1990)
solo piano | 7’ | UK Premiere 2017
  • SummaryOpen or Close
    Matthew Schellhorn will perform this work as part of his solo recital entitled 10x10, presented by Markson Pianos and Álvarez Chamber Orchestra.
  • Programme noteOpen or Close
    Nuances is made up of six aphoristic passages, each of which explores the semantic aspects of a given colour, rather like six slides: in order, these are Blue and Lilac, Violet, Pink, White and Black, Yellow and orange, Silver. Making refined use of the pedal and sympathetic vibrations, Massimo Lauricella creates particularly evocative timbres, a stimulating in-depth exploration of synesthetic and inter-sensory relationships. Expanded sonorities are once again to the fore in this piece, in close rapport with the enclosing space. The many, highly variegated resonances tinge the soundscape in constantly changing ways, exalting the effect of the individual sounds, which themselves often give the impression of being moving splashes of colour. Nuances was awarded the Grand Prix de Composition at the first Rendez-vous du Piano en Creuse Festival in France.
  • PerformancesOpen or Close
    28 June 2017
    St Mary Magdalene Church, Munster Square, London NW1
    UK Premiere
See also
twitter-m soundcloud-m youtube-m vimeo-m rss-m email-32