Matthew Schellhorn


Eight Studies (2012)
for solo piano | 17' | World Premiere 2012–13 | Commissioned by Matthew Schellhorn | Dedicated to Matthew Schellhorn
  • SummaryOpen or Close
    In 2012, Matthew Schellhorn commissioned Nicola LeFanu to write a set of piano studies, concentrating on different aspects of pianism. Eight Studies follows in the vein of the great Romantic etudes, while also presenting the lyrical possibilities of piano technique.
  • Programme noteOpen or Close
    Eight Studies was commissioned by Matthew Schellhorn, to whom it is dedicated.

    In order, the studies are:

    1 for control of attack and dynamic, for crossing hands
    2 for differentiation of crossing lines and independence of hands
    3 for spatial velocity
    4 for resonance and right hand legato
    5 for the left hand alone
    6 for characterisation, for repeated notes
    7 for delicacy of touch
    8 for voicing within chords and independence of fingers

    The work is published by Edition Peters.

    © Nicola LeFanu, 2012
  • PerformancesOpen or Close
    2 August 2012
    Walled City Music Festival, Derry, Ireland (selection)

    14 December 2013
    Goldsmiths, University of London, UK World Premiere

    5 September 2015
    York Late Music, UK
See also
twitter-m soundcloud-m youtube-m vimeo-m rss-m email-32