Matthew Schellhorn


IAN WILSON (b. 1964)
Mutazione: Piano Concerto (2003)
for solo piano and orchestra | 18’ | World Premiere 2016
  • SummaryOpen or Close
    Matthew Schellhorn will give the World Premiere of Ian Wilson's Mutazione: Piano Concerto as part of a BBC Radio 3 Invitation Concert for broadcast on Hear and Now.
    Stacks Image 23075
  • Programme noteOpen or Close
    Mutazione is a single-movement work in three sections. The first two sections are based on short improvisatory phrases which are then extrapolated using what is essentially variation technique (hence the work’s title). The first section gradually winds down in dynamic level and mobility while the second is rather more constant as well as being a more upbeat foil for the knottiness of the opening. The final section provides an emotional counterweight to the activity of the first two, being much slower and profound in character.

    This is one of many concertante works I have written – I find the focus on one line or instrument a very challenging and absorbing way of working and in Mutazione, as in most of my concertos, the soloist and orchestra work together towards a common expressive goal.

    This is the work’s premiere and I am delighted that my long-time collaborator, pianist Matthew Schellhorn, is the soloist.

    © 2016 Ian Wilson
  • PerformancesOpen or Close
    18 January 2016
    Ulster Hall, Belfast, UK
    with Ulster Orchestra / David Brophy
    World Premiere
twitter-m soundcloud-m youtube-m vimeo-m rss-m email-32